For some history, it should be noted that Ormoc parish was officially established on December 21, 1850, perhaps with great fanfare and revelry, as a result of a resolution passed on November 13, 1850, designating Ormoc as an independent parish. Founded in 1960, Sts. Peter and Paul Parish Church is a vibrant parish community that falls under the Palo Archdiocese and is well established in the Catholic religion. Every year on June 29th, people commemorate its feast day.
It is surrounded by a stone wall designed to protect the church and rectory from moribund depredations. But during the Second World War, the parish church was devastated, leaving the altar as the only part left. Since then, the church always seemed to be a work in progress as each new parish priest introduced improvements. The church's main altar is made of gold, and the interior is exquisitely painted, adding to its beauty and attracting more devotees.